Tibet is one of the most remarkable places to visit in Asia. Popularlyknown as "Roof of the World", Tibet has long been a favored destinationfor visitors. It offers fabulous monastery sights, breathtaking high-altitudetreks and stunning views of the world's highest mountains. With anaverage elevation of 4,000 meters above sea level, and over 50 peaksabove 7,000 meters, Tibet has become a real paradise for nature lover,mountaineers and explorers.

Tibet’s capital city is Lhasa. Tibet lies to the north-east of the Himalayas and the available oxygen in most of it is only half of that at sea level. Look at the map and you may find that Tibet lies in the southwest of China and it is whole inland. Internally, it has four neighbor provinces in China: Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region and Qinghai province to its north, Sichuan province to its east and Yunnan province to its southeast. Externally, Tibet borders on Burma, India, the Kingdom of Bhutan and Nepal from its south to west. Tibet covers an area of around 1.22 million km2, which accounts for 12.8% of the total of China. It is divided into six prefectures: Ngari Prefecture, Nagqu Prefecture, Shigatse Prefecture, Lhokha Prefecture, Nyingchi Prefecture and Chamdo Prefecture. And Tibet is divided into three parts according to its topography: the west (known as the North-Tibet Plateau), the south (featured by valleys) and the east (mainly canyons and is marked by a gradual decline in altitude intercepted by small ranges called Henduan Ranges).